I have STUFF to say about THE STAND UP GUYS, SNITCH and A GOOD DAY TO DIE HARD

I watched movies this past week (surprise, surprise)! Here’s what I have to say about them…

c94809be-dd99-474f-a23e-b6a61ca777c7_original_image_500_500

The Stand Up Guys
2013, Lionsgate
Buy it at Amazon.com

While I didn’t think this one looked good enough to see in the theaters, I was looking forward to it being released on video. I never watched a trailer for it but I assumed it was going to be more of a comedy about a couple of senior citizens having to commit one last heist. It’s not that at all (but, yes, crimes are committed by old men). THE STAND UP GUYS does have some humorous moments but it’s more of a drama with a sense of impending doom. It’s a somber tale about friendship and growing old. Al Pacino, Christopher Walken and Alan Arkin (who is not in this movie enough) are all great in their roles. It was fine but I don’t necessarily recommend it. It’s too bad this wasn’t more light-hearted because I feel using the premise and the cast would’ve really excelled more as a comedy.

Probably the best thing that came out of this movie was the song “Not Running Anymore”, which was written and performed by Jon Bon Jovi. The song is on the soundtrack for the movie but also appeared as a bonus track on Bon Jovi’s What About Now album.

=====

snitch

Snitch
2013, Summit Entertainment
Buy it at Amazon.com

Snitch was actually a bit better than I’d thought it’d be. It’s a different type of role for The Rock though because he’s not playing a wise-cracking hero. He’s just a dad trying to help his wrongfully jailed son avoid a ten year stretch in the pen. Okay, he’s helping his son by joining a drug cartel so he can get evidence against them but he’s still not playing that typical action hero role. There’s also the B-plot of Jon Bernthal’s character as a reformed criminal helping the Rock’s character get into the criminal world and how he’s dealing with trying to make an honest living and keep his family safe. It’s deep, man.

The movie is fine but gloomy and somber and I’d rather watch the Rock smack a guy upside the head with a 2×4 and crack a joke rather than watch him hug his ex-wife while she’s crying.

By the way, Susan Sarandon’s a total GMILF in this movie.

=====

good_day_to_die_hard_ver5

A Good Day to Die Hard
2013, 20th Century Fox
Buy it at Amazon.com

This is a generic and ridiculous action movie that does not deserve having the name DIE HARD attached to it. A GOOD DAY TO DIE HARD totally lacks the charm of the first three DIE HARD movies. The character of John McClane exists here in name only. You could’ve easily given him any other name and made this yet another direct-to-video release for Bruce Willis. Willis seems to be doing DTV more and more these days… seriously, go check out your local Redbox and count the Bruce Willis movies. He’s in Nicolas Cage/Samuel L. Jackson territory now.

There were a number of ridiculous action sequences in this movie and they relied on CGI too much as well. Die Hard is not about CGI! LIVE FREE OR DIE HARD was not very good and A GOOD DAY TO DIE HARD is even worse. It’s time to put this franchise to bed (well, until Fox decides to remake the first one in about 5 years starring either Channing Tatum or Chris Hemsworth, I’m sure). The film did okay at the box office but is the lowest-grossing film in the series. I hope that tells the studio something. I’m definitely glad I didn’t end up going to the theaters for this one.

Oh, and Russia? Seriously?

===

Okay, so I didn’t watch great movies or anything but you didn’t pay a dime and no one forced you to read this, so what do you want from me? Hey, stick around — I’ll post my thoughts on Identity Thief and Superman Unbound later this week and then I hope to dive into my childhood once again.

One thought on “I have STUFF to say about THE STAND UP GUYS, SNITCH and A GOOD DAY TO DIE HARD

  1. I am a big Die Hard fan … and I was really looking forward to Die Hard 5 … but it was such a disappointment!

    It’s difficult for me to know which of the sequels you’re talking about when you use the U.S. titles.
    In Japan, the new one is called Die Hard: Final, and the before it was Die Hard 4.0

    On my site, I just wrote a post about bad movies, coincidentally.
    Feel free to comment!

Leave a Reply

