9 comments on “KISS – Sonic Boom

    • I didn’t like “Stand” either, initially. It IS a bit cheesy, I will admit.

      No, I was up, but busy online (probably writing for this blog or my other!), so I didn’t turn it up. I caught it on YouTube though. They sounded great, except for Paul’s voice. Just an off night because I know from experience he’s done much better than that recently. :D

  1. I am not into Stand either! lol I love the tracks but my favs are “When Lightning Strikes,” “Danger Us,” “All for the Glory,” “I’m and Animal,” and even “Hot and Cold.” Overall I’m pleased with it. I was hoping for some harder edged tracks…this album even hearkens back to the first album at times. It’s really an amalgamation of all eras instead of just Love Gun and Rock and Roll Over like Gene and Paul referenced. NICE REVIEW!!!

    • Hopefully we won’t have to wait another 11 years for another new album. Maybe since Paul was in full control this time, he’ll be more likely to get excited about the idea of doing another one 3-4 years from now.

  2. MM-I agree with your review(s) wholeheartedly. Gene was doing 70s, Paul was doing 80s and the other two are doing what they’re told. I agree that it doesn’t quite live up to the hype or the promise of a return to the 70s sound, but I still think it’s the best overall album since the early 80s.

    I know Tokyo 5 disagrees (he and I have had this discussion before) but I am in your court on the REVENGE album. I think there are some great songs on there which could’ve been classics, but in combination with the truly bad songs and the overproduction I think it just doesn’t stand up.

  3. Pingback: The Top 10 Albums of 2009 « Metal Excess

  4. Pingback: The Best Albums of the 2000s « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

