6 comments on “Trimming the Fat: Metallica's Load & ReLoad

  1. Pretty good picks, but you left out my favorite form the two albums, The Outlaw Torn, but it sounds better on S&M than on Load. I personally like both albums and know each sogn to some degree, but if your gonna make a best of the two, then you made a pretty accurate list (still needs Outlaw Torn though). 2 X 4 and Better Than You are both pretty good songs too, and I would probably leave Fixxxer and Slither off for the three I mentioned, but that is my opinion.

  2. Interesting idea you came up with here. I will admit, that I do like “Hero Of The Day”, my favorite song out of both these albums.

    I know I’ve said it before a thousand times… the first 3 Metallica albums are IT. Okay, that makes it 1,001 times now. :)

  3. >bash anything and everything this band has done since 1991

    And for good reason, if you ask me!

    But your condensed “(Re)Load” is much better than the way those albums were released.

  4. Pingback: Some Thoughts on Metallica « rsmithing

  5. Hey Justin, great post. You especially make a good point about bashing the band for their 1990s work. I think it’s easy to do, but then, there are millions of record-buying folk who would disagree there, so hey. I reference this in a post I did recently on Metallica over at http://wp.me/p1UhOK-43 …I’d welcome your comments if you’d care to share. Rock on.

  6. I think that there’s enough good stuff on both albums that fans were justified in bashing Metallica for padding it out with crap in order to release mediocre albums instead of one great one.

    I would have added “Cure” and “Bleeding Me” and ditched “Fuel” and “Ain’t My Bitch”. If they could have de-countrified “Mama Said” I may have squeezed that on there, just because it has a killer chorus.

Leave a Reply

